UP Baguio shifts academic calendar for school year 2014-2015

Print pagePDF pageEmail page

Along with six other University of the Philippines campuses, UP Baguio will shift its academic calendar on a pilot basis starting school year 2014-2015 as approved by the UP Board of Regents.

UP announced last week that its UP Manila, UP Baguio, UP Los Baños, UP Visayas, UP Mindanao, UP Open University, and UP College in Cebu campuses will adapt the new academic calendar. Only UP Diliman will not shift its academic calendar because consultations with stakeholders are not yet complete.

UP Baguio Chancellor Raymundo Rovillos said that the shift in the university’s academic calendar is for the attainment of global competitiveness, referring to the expected implementation by ASEAN countries of the Action Plan of the ASEAN Economic Cooperation (AEC 2015) by 2015. The AEC is a program that promotes free flow of goods and services among the ASEAN member countries.

Rovillos also said that before the adoption of the new academic calendar, consultations were done from the student level, department level, college level, campus level, to the UP system.

Under the new academic calendar, the first semester will be from August to December, the second semester from January to May, and the summer term from June to July.

To read the full report from the Philippine Information Agency, please click here.
For more news on the university, please like the UP System community page on Facebook, include the UP System page in your Google + circles, or follow the UP System on Twitter.